FRESH: ‘Evangeline’ – Jon Fratelli

Jon Fratelli announces details of his new single “Evangeline” and his new album!

by Christopher Smith

John fratelli Bright Night Flowers

Jon Fratelli – Multi-instrumentalist, singer, songwriter and front man of The Fratellis announces details of a new single “Evangeline” out today!

“Evangeline” is the third single taken from Jon’s forthcoming solo album “Bright Night Flowers” which will be released on February 15, 2019 via Cooking Vinyl.

Jon talks about the new track by saying “Evangeline is a good example of a song that starts it’s life heading in one direction and ends it in somewhere completely unexpected. When I first recorded this, stylistically it was more in the realms of a Spector-Esque “Wall Of Sound” piece, where it is now pays more of a homage to the kind of easy, country strum which I always tend to gravitate back towards. Songs like this are so pliable that you can make them fit almost any style you want, to my ears this version is the one that suits the song best, allows it to breath and meander at it’s own pace to take you where it needs to”.

“Bright Night Flowers” was recorded in Scotland during the summer of 2018 and was self produced with the help of a long term friend, musician and producer Stuart McCredie (Simple Minds, Echo & The Bunny Men, Belle & Sebastian and The Fratellis).

Straight off the back of the last Fratellis album, Jon’s solo material displays a more down-tempo melodic side to his song writing and with echoes of Glen Campbell, Roy Orbison and even Tom Waits, this perfectly-assembled, finely-wrought, nine-track album showcases something very special from his art.

Soul-noir, country gothic, The Big ‘O’ meets The Big Easy, the Heart of Saturday Night meets the West End of Glasgow…Call it what you will, Jon’s second solo ‘joint’ is a little masterpiece and a refreshing change of pace from his previous work.

Tracklisting for “Bright Night Flowers”:
1. Serenade In Vain
2. Bright Night Flowers
3. After A While
4. Evangeline
5. Rolling By
6. Crazy Lovers Song
7. Dreams Don’t Remember Your Name
8. In From The Cold
9. Somewhere

Keep up-to-date with Jon through his WEBSITE and his FACEBOOK group

Don’t forget to follow all the songs featured on our FRESH music feature on the playlist. Enjoy!


If you enjoy what you read on this site – feel free to donate and show your support…click to donate any amount you like, every little helps!


Written by aylshamchris

i L O V E music
%d bloggers like this: