James Blunt 2019

FRESH: ‘Once Upon A Mind’ – James Blunt

James Blunt releases “Champions”.

Taken from his forthcoming new studio album “Once Upon A Mind”.

by Christopher Smith

Multi-GRAMMY nominated and multi-platinum British singer/songwriter James Blunt has revealed an uplifting new track “Champions”, from his upcoming sixth studio album “Once Upon A Mind” (arriving October 25th via Custard/Atlantic Records). The song arrives alongside a captivatingly beautiful stripped back performance video, filmed at The Pool Studio in London. “Either we win this thing together, or we die alone” said Blunt of the heartfelt track, “I believe in us”.

“Champions” follows the release of Blunt’s current single “Cold”, which has already amassed over six million streams since release last month. The Calum Macdiarmid-directed visual mirrors the iconic visual for Blunt’s debut global hit single “You’re Beautiful”, finding the tunesmith washed ashore fourteen years after his iconic dive into the water in the same clothes and scaling cliffs for moments of jaw-dropping tension with no stunt doubles involved. Fans will be able to connect the dots as he pays further homage, picking up original items from the 2005 video during his ascent before his eventual airlift to safety.

After flirting with electronica on his last album (2017’s “The Afterlove”), James Blunt returns to what he does best on “Once Upon A Mind”, writing classic songs that touch both the heart and the head. The album sees Blunt collaborating with a variety of producers such as Steve Robson, Jimmy Hogarth and TMS – resulting in a freshness that resonates throughout the eleven-song collection, with highlights including the poignant ballad “Monsters”, pop-infused “5 Miles” and the country tinged “Halfway”.

“I think this is the most honest album I have ever made” says James. “’Back To Bedlam’ was similar in that I had been writing those songs for a while about my life experiences at that time, and they came together on my debut. And every song on this album represents something that I’m currently going through or have recently experienced. It’s a very personal record, and I’m proud I can share it”. Blunt first captured the world’s attention in 2005 with his triple Platinum RIAA certified debut “Back To Bedlam”, and its history-making double Platinum certified No.1 single “You’re Beautiful”.

The British tunesmith has since become one of the most popular singer/songwriters of the modern era, with total album sales now in excess of 23 million worldwide. He has also been the recipient of a remarkable range of top honors, including five GRAMMY nominations, two BRIT Awards, two Ivor Novello Awards (honoring British music and songwriters), and a host of MTV awards. Blunt has also earned viral acclaim for his hugely popular and extremely witty Twitter account, boasting over 1.8 million followers and growing (@jamesblunt). 2020 will also see Blunt embarking on a major UK and European headline tour, his first since performing on the North American leg of Ed Sheeran’s ÷ Tour and international headline run in 2017.

“Once Upon A Mind” (Custard/Atlantic Records):
1. The Truth
2. Cold
3. Champions
4. Monsters
5. Youngster
6. 5 Miles
7. How It Feels To Be Alive
8. I Told You
9. Halfway
10. Stop The Clock
11. The Greatest

Stay in touch with James through his WEBSITE and his FACEBOOK page

Don’t forget to follow all the songs featured on our FRESH music feature. Enjoy!


If you enjoy what you read on this site – feel free to donate and show your support…click to donate any amount you like, every little helps – and don’t forget to download the App!

Looking for the perfect gift for a music lover like you – check out My First Record for a poptastic present!