Circa Waves

FRESH: ‘Sad Happy’ – Circa Waves

Circa Waves release their brand new album, “Sad Happy”

Circa Waves have already released the track and self shot video for “Move To San Francisco” ahead of the release of the “Happy” side of their fourth studio album “Sad Happy” which is out today. Inspired by how quickly pop and hip-hop move in today’s streaming age, the release of the “Happy” side of Circa Waves’ new album distills the band’s sound into its purest form while pushing it forward into a more expansive, and mature space. It’s a moving, energizing, and timelessly melodic record and incisive in its portrait of modern life. The heart and soul of the record lies in its hymns of fading relationships, self-deprecation, and anxieties of modern day.

Discussing “Move To San Francisco” Kieran Shudall says: “Inspired by The Beatles favourite instrument the Mellotron, “San Francisco” was written in a quick burst. It’s about escapism, pessimism, and Bruce Springsteen. In the spirit of DIY, we decided to film the video ourselves and let Joe edit the shit out of it. We walked to the highest point in San Fran, went to the lowest dive bars, and even filmed the Golden Gate Bridge. What the video lacks in camera prowess, it makes up for in idiotic charm”.

Lead single “Jacqueline”, which was released at the end of last year, is an infectious, Soweto-flavored groove that explores the theme of single motherhood in modern Britain. Fans will find songs like the anthemic “Move To San Francisco” and “Be Your Drug” just the kind of guitar-led sunshine pop rock they fell in love with five years ago. “Happy” was written and produced in full by Kieran Shudall and mixed by Grammy winners Dan Grech-Marguerat and Matt Wiggins. Circa Waves will also be heading out on their next headline UK tour in April. Kicking off at Glasgow’s O2 Academy on March 27th, the tour will also include a headline show at London’s Brixton Academy on April 3rd and finish with a hometown show at Liverpool’s Guild of Students on April 4th.

Tracklisting for “HAPPY”:
1. Jacqueline
2. Be Your Drug
3. Move To San Francisco
4. Wasted On You
5. The Things We Knew Last Night
6. Call Your Name
7. Love You More

Tracklisting for “SAD”:
8. Sad Happy
9. Wake Up Call
10. Sympathy
11. Battered And Bruised
12. Hope There’s A Heaven
13. Train To Lime Street
14. Birthday Cake

Circa Waves are Kieran Shudall, Joe Falconer, Sam Rourke, and Colin Jones.

Stay in touch with Circa Waves through their WEBSITE and their FACEBOOK page

Don’t forget to follow all the songs featured on our FRESH music feature. Enjoy!


We get hundreds of emails per day and some slip through the net. Submit your songs to us via SubmitHub, MusoSoup or MySphera to be guaranteed a listen.

Boost your streams, discover new fans and increase sales with the Indie Spotify Bible.

Looking for the perfect gift for a music lover like you – check out My First Record or Townsend Music for a poptastic present!