FRESH: ‘Don’t Blame Me’ – Flawes

Flawes confidently say “Don’t Blame Me”!


British band Flawes’ modern take on timeless Pop has put them on the map from the very beginning. That is very much apparent with their new single “Don’t Blame Me”, another taste of their upcoming album.

Just as Flawes were set to go stellar, the world was thrown into turmoil but the trio continued to engage fans keeping their debut album “Highlights” in the spotlight during lockdown. 2023 sees the amazing follow up.

Flawes – Josh Carruthers, Freddie Edwards and Josh Hussey – dogged determination is rewarded as they announce the June 9th release of their fittingly-titled new album “One Step Back, Two Steps Forward”. The album is a driving-with-the-top-down record, their slick, uplifting sound powered by propulsive rhythms, yearning guitars and choruses that soar. Informed by an attitude that every moment matters, it’s a record which wastes no time in unveiling its direct yet nuanced pop charms.

Not a single song lingers until the four-minute mark, creating a breathless momentum that feels like an instant greatest hits collection. “Don’t Blame Me” is one slice of that collection and compliments their previous release “Is It Any Wonder”. Other noteworthy tracks to come include “Give Me Your Worst”, the Coldplay-esque synth-centred anthem “Satellite” and the explosive euphoric redemption of the closing track “Waste It All On You”.

Yet Flawes also provide a darker tone to the album too, with the moody, bluesy kiss-off and fighting spirit of “Tears Won’t Show”. A little over 32 minutes after pressing play, “One Step Back, Two Steps Forward” proves that every part of Flawes’ struggle was undoubtedly worth it – a challenge that ultimately allowed them to raise their game to previously unprecedented levels and also much lauded acclaim and success that the trio are due.

Stay in touch with Flawes


Submit your music to us…