Brighton based singer and songwriter Passenger releases his new album “Runaway” today!

by Christopher Smith

Passenger Runaway

The new album from Passenger is out now and contains the Radio 2 playlisted single “Hell Or High Water” and the new single “Heart To Love”.

The video for Passenger’s Ivor Novello Award-winning single “Let Her Go” has this week surpassed two billion views on YouTube, joining a very exclusive club which includes Ed Sheeran’s “Shape Of You”, Taylor Swift’s “Blank Space”, Mark Ronson’s “Uptown Funk” ft Bruno Mars, and Adele’s “Hello”. In the UK the track has also recently passed the two million sales mark.

Originally recorded in 2012, “Let Her Go” reached No.1 in 19 countries, with the accompanying album “All The Little Lights” achieving platinum or multi-platinum status in 11 countries.

“I don’t really know how to compute this information anymore …the facts and figures surrounding it are just too baffling to get my head around” says Passenger, aka Brighton’s Mike Rosenberg. “This song just keeps on going and going and is without doubt one of the most magical and bizarre things to have ever happened to me. Crazy that it happened to reach this milestone on the week of my 10th album being released too. So cool”.

Eduard Castelló, YouTube Music Content Partnerships Manager, UK & Ireland adds “We’re delighted to see Passenger hit such a remarkable milestone ahead of his new studio album release this week. Mike has developed such a deep and meaningful relationship with his fans on YouTube by adopting an always-on approach. He provides access to not only most-watched music videos, but also live versions, visualisers, and behind-the-scenes clips which allow fans to connect directly to him and feel a part of his journey. We look forward to seeing what comes next”.

Passenger is a streaming phenomenon who has also had well in excess of a billion streams on Spotify. Combined streams for advance tracks from his new album “Runaway” have already exceeded 25 million plays.

Runaway” is released on CD, Vinyl LP and download with Deluxe 2CD, 2LP and Deluxe Digital formats available that include Live Acoustic versions of the album recorded across North America. The album contains the Radio 2 playlisted lead single “Hell Or High Water” plus new single “Heart To Love”.

Passenger tour

Last night, Passenger embarked on an extensive world tour in support of “Runaway” with a sold-out show at Edinburgh Queens Hall. The UK leg culminates next weekend with sold-out shows at London’s Roundhouse on September 8th and Brighton’s Dome on September 9th, which promises to be a very special hometown show for Rosenberg.

Passenger’s 2016 album “Young As The Morning, Old As The Sea” entered the UK charts at No.1, ahead of Bruce Springsteen, and the subsequent tour saw Rosenberg play his largest headline tour to date with a total audience of over 1.4 million across 29 countries, including playing to over 13,500 people at Amsterdam’s ZiggoDome.

Runaway“, Rosenberg’s tenth album in eleven years, was recorded between the UK and Australia with his co-producer, Chris Vallejo, but its aesthetic is North American. Sonically too, “Runaway” draws on Americana, for instance the early work of Ryan Adams. Rosenberg imagined these new songs as unfolding against a backdrop of American landscapes. And so, rather than the usual video process, he and director Jarrad Seng spent a three weeks on a road trip across the US making videos for every song on the album. Five of these videos are already available to view “Heart To Love”, shot on Las Vegas’ famous Strip, “Hell Or High Water”, set in the epic landscapes of a series of National Parks; the sublime “Why I Can’t Change”, seeped in influences such as the Traveling Wilburys and early Fleetwood Mac; and album title track “Runaway”, which features Rosenberg running through spectacular locations including Death Valley and Monument Valley, Lombard Street in San Francisco, and New York’s High Line.

Passenger also recently revealed a beautiful video for the haunting track for “To Be Free”, shot on the beach in Avalon, New Jersey, and starring New York City Ballet’s Emily Kikta.

Track listing:
1. Hell Or High Water
2. Why Can’t I Change
3. Heart To Love
4. Let’s Go
5. Eagle Bear Buffalo
6. Ghost Town
7. Runaway
8. He Leaves You Cold
9. To Be Free
10. Survivors

Deluxe formats include original album plus bonus disc/tracks:
1. Survivors – Live from Jedediah Smith Redwood State Park, OR
2. To Be Free – Live from Dauphin Rd, Vineland, NJ
3. Eagle Bear Buffalo – Live from Canaan Mountain Wilderness Area, UT
4. Runaway – Live from Joshua Tree National Park, CA
5. Ghost Town – Live from Michigan Theatre, Detroit, MI
6. He Leaves You Cold – Live from Unityville, PA
7. Let’s Go – Live from Trough Rd State Bridge, CO
8. Heart To Love – Live from a rooftop in Manhattan, NY
9. Why Can’t I Change – Live from Tahkenitch Landing Campground, Gardiner, OR
10. Hell Or High Water – Live from Santa Monica Beach, Los Angeles, CA

Keep in touch with Passenger through his WEBSITE and his FACEBOOK page

If you like what you see here – buy us a glass of wine!

Don’t have a music streaming service yet? Try one of these:

SpotifyApple Music or Amazon  |

This post contains affiliate links, which means that if you click on one of the product links, I’ll receive commission on any purchases.

Written by aylshamchris

i L O V E music

Let us know what you think...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s