Barns Courtney

FRESH: ‘Hollow’ – Barns Courtney

Barns Courtney releases “Hollow”!

Taken from his brand new album “404”, released September 6th.

by Christopher Smith

Rising global star Barns Courtney, who we featured last year with his song “99”, has shared a brand new single and video “Hollow” featuring Look Mum No Computer. The release marks the latest cut from the British singer’s second studio album “404” which is set for release on September 6th via Virgin EMI/Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company.

Due to unprecedented demand, Barns has also added four additional dates in Italy, Belgium, Denmark and Switzerland to his nearly sold-out global headline tour this Autumn. A roaring call to arms, “Hollow” sees Barns’ signature deep vocals wrapped around in-your-face instrumentation. The accompanying video, directed by Math and Fran, finds Barns hospitalised and, whilst strapped to a gurney, we see the star submitted to an internal examination where all is not as it seems…

“Hollow” marks the third release from “404”, the album will feature ten new tracks and will explore Barns’ transition into adulthood with conflicted feelings of loss, frustration and optimism. Fans can expect to hear his vocals layered with intense rock grooves and softer melodic sounds. Recorded in the middle of the night, the vocals were captured in only one take and are largely improvised. It is perhaps Barns’ most raw and intimate work yet as he invites listeners into some of his deepest thoughts.

“404” follows his successful 2017 debut “The Attractions Of Youth”, which saw him become a viral hit with singles “Glitter and Gold” and “Fire” reaching popularity on both sides of the Atlantic. He performed on popular US late-night talk shows such as Conan O’Brien and The Late Late Show with James Corden as well as receiving support from Rolling Stone magazine. To date, Barns has amassed over 500,000 global album sales, more than 570 million global streams and 45 million YouTube views. The first single from “404”, “99” peaked at No.5 on the US airplay charts, was streamed over 36million times globally and received support from BBC Radio 1 DJ Annie Mac, who described it as “a cross between Kings Of Leon and MGMT”.

On the live circuit, his electric and unmissable shows earned him a completely sold out UK and European tour in 2018 which included iconic London venues such as Heaven, Dingwalls and Scala. Having previously opened for industry heavyweights such as The Who, Blur, The Libertines, Ed Sheeran, The Kooks, The Wombats and Elle King, and with a European tour already under his belt this year, fans will get to see his incredible performance in the UK, US and Europe this autumn. The UK shows kick off in Manchester on 8th October and culminate in a London show at the Electric Ballroom on 23rd October, before he heads to Europe.

Tracklisting for “404”:
1. Hollow
2. You & I
3. 1999
4. London Girls
5. Fun Never Ends
6. Boy Like Me
7. The Kids Are Alright
8. Castaway
9. Babylon
10. Cannonball

Stay in touch with Barns through his WEBSITE and his FACEBOOK page

Don’t forget to follow all the songs featured on our FRESH music feature. Enjoy!


If you enjoy what you read on this site – feel free to donate and show your support…click to donate any amount you like, every little helps – and don’t forget to download the App!

Looking for the perfect gift for a music lover like you – check out My First Record for a poptastic present!

Written by Christopher Smith

So perhaps you’ve read an article or two that I’ve written and wondered “just who is this character?”! Well I thought maybe it would be time to introduce myself and what I’m all about. Well it’s all about the music! Having been born in the late 1970’s I was heavily influenced by my parent’s love of ‘popular’ music and rock and roll of the 1950’s and 60’s. My Mother always said she should of married Elvis and my father was, and is still, in love with Sandie Shaw! But while my Dad’s tastes stopped in about 1967, my Mum carried on loving music throughout the 70’s, 80’s and beyond. My first memory was playing on the floor whilst my Mother was ironing one day with the radio on, and hearing ABBA’s “Super Trouper” dancing my nappy off to it! Maybe that’s where it all went wrong…?! Having been subjected to all and sundry in my infant years, I finally found my feet in the mid-1980’s and began ‘partying’ to the likes of Culture Club, Stevie Wonder(!), Elkie Brooks and Bananarama to name but a few! The year 1987 would have a profound effect on my listening tastes and from thereon in my life would be dominated with buying and listening to music. Any number of outstanding songs were released and listened to that year, most notably “Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now”, “I Wanna Dance With Somebody” and “La Isla Bonita”. That Summer my mind was completely taken over with music and sounds I’d never heard before and I was totally taken in by it all. My father would say “whaaar rubbish you got on naaaaao?” (I’m from Norfolk!) but I was hooked. And it continued so for the rest of the decade and the next. At the beginning of 1988 I ‘met’ my true love and the singer I’ve worshipped more than any other artist or group. You may know of her. She’s from Australia…! Aside from pop music, my tastes are many and varied and continues to grow and expand as I ‘mature’ in age. I’ve always been heavily interested in films and in particular the mechanics of film making and of course film music, so scores and subsequently orchestral music takes up a lot of my tastes and collection. 90’s dance and club tunes also takes up much of the space in my head and I’m surprised my brain has stopped shaking from the years of abuse it took being dragged to nightclubs, often three times a week in my 20’s! I find with each year that passes I regress back to my youth and of course the 1980’s. 80’s music dominates and the lust to see as many 80’s acts and singers play live now is insatiable. I’m still getting into the groove as much as every breath I take, but I’m never gonna give up listening to my heart and pumping up the volume, simply because I LOVE MUSIC…any kind of music!
%d bloggers like this: