Judy Cheeks Love Dancin

REVIEW: ‘Love Dancin’ – Judy Cheeks

Judy Cheeks – “Love Dancin'”

Judy Cheeks, together with her amazing producer Shaun O’Shea, is back with a brand new album for 2020! Hot on the heels of “A Deeper Love” last year and “Danger Zone” in 2018, Judy’s new collection is entitled “Love Dancin'” and with fourteen tracks available, let’s see just how much the lady really does love dancin’…!

1. Safe In Your Arms

“Love Dancin'” kicks off with a very familiar sounding Whitney Houston style 80’s soul ballad, safe in Judy’s arms…and that’s where I want to be!

2. Love’s Got To Find Love

The husky and pulsing “Love’s Got To Find Love” brings the tempo up with its repetitive message that “Too many hearts are breaking, too much love love is wasted, you gotta find someone…love’s got to find love”. I love the groove and rhythm of this track, it’s addictive and will have you hooked within minutes.

3. I Wanna Sing A Love Song

Judy wants to sing a long song because “Life’s too short to wear a frown”! She sings her love song against a great R&B bass laden backdrop which is both lively and sparkling. “Rock me baby”!

4. A Southern Heart

The gorgeous “Southern Heart”, with its echoing vocals, impresses home that a southern heart will make your life complete. This is a smooth, gospel-tinged number that will make you want you throw your arms up and clap in celebration.

5. Two Hearts

Keeping the tempo down, Judy informs us that it doesn’t take two hearts to fall in love. Her vocal is suppressed and sublime for this sensual track, devoid of any backing singers, this is Judy, alone, getting the message through.

6. Love Dancin’

Title track time and with the slap of some bongos this simple, joyous number even has Judy rapping towards the end! Kick back as “we’re romancing” with Judy, so just “love dancin'”!

7. I See The Sunshine

Oh yes raise that voice “I been lonely for so long” screams Judy as the funky “I See The Sunshine” blasts away. More sexy grooves aplenty and I’m sure you will see the sunshine, the passion and the desire to ‘move’ with this electric track.

8. Holding On For The Wrong Thing

Moving away from the theme of love, this dark and impassioned song makes you realise that despite all you can do to make a relationship work, sometimes you may be wasting your time and you just may be “Holding On To The Wrong Thing”…

9. All Over Again

Taking it right down this time as Judy continues the theme of being with someone you shouldn’t be, but does so with real conviction and charm set against the backdrop of this gorgeous but heartfelt soul ballad.

10. Leap Of Faith

“Leap Of Faith” is a real anthem and it’s got everything, gospel choirs, electric guitars as it builds and builds from beginning to end. This song has the strength to be a big massive in its own right, it’s got that feel good factor and an epic middle-eight. Definitely a standout.

11. Friends

…and when that relationship is over, there’s only one way to come out of it. As “Friends”. The backing track to this song is highly infectious and remains the same throughout. Better than looking through a brick wall(!)

12. Thunder

The soulful and funky “Thunder” is very 70’s disco and fast moving and certainly more positive that previous songs as Judy sings of the “thunder of my heart”. “He is the light, he is the joy and the thunder…”, Judy sounds much more at home singing about love and the virtues of that intimate feeling.

13. Lift Me Up

“Lift Me Up” is certainly that, with it’s upbeat and positive chorus. It’s all about loving her right. Holding her in your arms. It’s about having the power in your love. That’s what lifts us all up.

14. Take Me With You

Wow, this is a really retro 80’s track! I love the opening few seconds of “Take Me With You” and its chorus will have you up and moving about like disco’s used to be 30-40 years ago. It’s spunky and fresh and yet if you close your eyes, it’s like being a kid again!


Judy has spoilt us again with an incredible fourteen new tracks from her third album in as many years. Once again this is a collection of diverse themes that will please lovers of Judy’s gospel heritage as much as her 80’s sounds and her natural soul/R’n’B grooves. Either way, all of those genres accentuate Judy’s vocal abilities in strength as well as dealing with the more refined and intimate moments of love, life and everything in between.

You can purchase “Love Dancin'” from iTunes, Amazon, CDbaby and Deezer, or to download the booklet that accompanies the album, click here.

Stay in touch with Judy through her WEBSITE, her FACEBOOK page and follow her on TWITTER

We get hundreds of emails per day and some slip through the net. Submit your songs to us via SubmitHub, MusoSoup or MySphera to be guaranteed a listen.

Boost your streams, discover new fans and increase sales with the Indie Spotify Bible.

Looking for the perfect gift for a music lover like you – check out My First Record or Townsend Music for a poptastic present!

Written by

So perhaps you’ve read an article or two that I’ve written and wondered “just who is this character?”! Well I thought maybe it would be time to introduce myself and what I’m all about. Well it’s all about the music! Having been born in the late 1970’s I was heavily influenced by my parent’s love of ‘popular’ music and rock and roll of the 1950’s and 60’s. My Mother always said she should of married Elvis and my father was, and is still, in love with Sandie Shaw! But while my Dad’s tastes stopped in about 1967, my Mum carried on loving music throughout the 70’s, 80’s and beyond. My first memory was playing on the floor whilst my Mother was ironing one day with the radio on, and hearing ABBA’s “Super Trouper” dancing my nappy off to it! Maybe that’s where it all went wrong…?! Having been subjected to all and sundry in my infant years, I finally found my feet in the mid-1980’s and began ‘partying’ to the likes of Culture Club, Stevie Wonder(!), Elkie Brooks and Bananarama to name but a few! The year 1987 would have a profound effect on my listening tastes and from thereon in my life would be dominated with buying and listening to music. Any number of outstanding songs were released and listened to that year, most notably “Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now”, “I Wanna Dance With Somebody” and “La Isla Bonita”. That Summer my mind was completely taken over with music and sounds I’d never heard before and I was totally taken in by it all. My father would say “whaaar rubbish you got on naaaaao?” (I’m from Norfolk!) but I was hooked. And it continued so for the rest of the decade and the next. At the beginning of 1988 I ‘met’ my true love and the singer I’ve worshipped more than any other artist or group. You may know of her. She’s from Australia…! Aside from pop music, my tastes are many and varied and continues to grow and expand as I ‘mature’ in age. I’ve always been heavily interested in films and in particular the mechanics of film making and of course film music, so scores and subsequently orchestral music takes up a lot of my tastes and collection. 90’s dance and club tunes also takes up much of the space in my head and I’m surprised my brain has stopped shaking from the years of abuse it took being dragged to nightclubs, often three times a week in my 20’s! I find with each year that passes I regress back to my youth and of course the 1980’s. 80’s music dominates and the lust to see as many 80’s acts and singers play live now is insatiable. I’m still getting into the groove as much as every breath I take, but I’m never gonna give up listening to my heart and pumping up the volume, simply because I LOVE MUSIC…any kind of music!