Ocean Flaws

FRESH: ‘Spirit Level’ – Ocean Flaws

Ocean Flaws have a “Spirit Level”!

British band Ocean Flaws release their new single, “Spirit Level”, today their second ever release following this year’s earlier debut with “Deep Sea Dreaming”. Ocean Flaws are a dreampop-indie four piece consisting of Callum Quirk (vocals and bass), Hamish Monk and Sean Heaney (guitars), and Alex Pattle (percussion) and released “Deep Sea Dreaming” in February of 2020.

“Spirit Level” has a catchy feel to it and an instant singalong factor as you quickly pick up the lyrics of the chorus and join in at the end of the song with the first listen. Synths, harpsichords and guitars layer the smooth soundtrack of this 90’s Britpop sounding anthem. Ocean Flaws add the history of how this song happened: “Nearly neutered by COVID-19, ‘Spirit Level’ was recorded at Liverpool’s indie mecca, Sugar House which was actually cut short by Boris Johnson’s sobering announcement on 23rd March 2020, which, for the first time, put the entire country on strict lockdown”.

“From midnight that evening, we reluctantly began a sombre procession back to Essex, and left the skeleton of ‘Spirit Level’ in a locker in Liverpool, not knowing when we’d return to raise it from the dead. Like Dr. Frankenstein, we eagerly rushed back to the lab as soon as we were allowed, and injected life into ‘Spirit Level’ with some haunting lyrics and whirring 80s electronics. Against all odds, the song was finally complete, and soon after, the Cronenberg-esque music video was shot”. See what you think for yourself…and enjoy Ocean Flaws!

For more about Ocean Flaws, check out their WEBSITE and their FACEBOOK page

Don’t forget to follow all the songs featured on our FRESH music feature. Enjoy!

Submit your songs to us via
to be guaranteed a listen.


Boost your streams, discover new fans and increase sales with the Indie Spotify Bible.

Written by

So perhaps you’ve read an article or two that I’ve written and wondered “just who is this character?”! Well I thought maybe it would be time to introduce myself and what I’m all about. Well it’s all about the music! Having been born in the late 1970’s I was heavily influenced by my parent’s love of ‘popular’ music and rock and roll of the 1950’s and 60’s. My Mother always said she should of married Elvis and my father was, and is still, in love with Sandie Shaw! But while my Dad’s tastes stopped in about 1967, my Mum carried on loving music throughout the 70’s, 80’s and beyond. My first memory was playing on the floor whilst my Mother was ironing one day with the radio on, and hearing ABBA’s “Super Trouper” dancing my nappy off to it! Maybe that’s where it all went wrong…?! Having been subjected to all and sundry in my infant years, I finally found my feet in the mid-1980’s and began ‘partying’ to the likes of Culture Club, Stevie Wonder(!), Elkie Brooks and Bananarama to name but a few! The year 1987 would have a profound effect on my listening tastes and from thereon in my life would be dominated with buying and listening to music. Any number of outstanding songs were released and listened to that year, most notably “Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now”, “I Wanna Dance With Somebody” and “La Isla Bonita”. That Summer my mind was completely taken over with music and sounds I’d never heard before and I was totally taken in by it all. My father would say “whaaar rubbish you got on naaaaao?” (I’m from Norfolk!) but I was hooked. And it continued so for the rest of the decade and the next. At the beginning of 1988 I ‘met’ my true love and the singer I’ve worshipped more than any other artist or group. You may know of her. She’s from Australia…! Aside from pop music, my tastes are many and varied and continues to grow and expand as I ‘mature’ in age. I’ve always been heavily interested in films and in particular the mechanics of film making and of course film music, so scores and subsequently orchestral music takes up a lot of my tastes and collection. 90’s dance and club tunes also takes up much of the space in my head and I’m surprised my brain has stopped shaking from the years of abuse it took being dragged to nightclubs, often three times a week in my 20’s! I find with each year that passes I regress back to my youth and of course the 1980’s. 80’s music dominates and the lust to see as many 80’s acts and singers play live now is insatiable. I’m still getting into the groove as much as every breath I take, but I’m never gonna give up listening to my heart and pumping up the volume, simply because I LOVE MUSIC…any kind of music!