Kylie Boombox

REVIEW: ‘Boombox’ – Kylie Minogue

Kylie Minogue – “Boombox”

reviewed by Christopher Smith

Kylie’s second major remix collection after “Mixes” (1998) was released with Parlophone Records and covered many of her hits from 2000 onwards. There was a smorgasboard from which to choose from during this period as virtually all of her physical singles releases came in two CD formats with at least three different mixes of the main song.

And for added value, the previously unreleased track “Boombox” was included just for good measure and even gave its name to the title of the album! If you’re planning a night out, then here’s a collection of club mixes to get you in the mood. “Are your speakers loud enough to handle it? If you think they are, then your on the guest list
for sonic bliss”!

1. Can’t Get Blue Monday Out Of My Head

Premiered at the Brit Awards in February 2002, this new and exciting version of Kylie’s massive hit from 2001 went on to be the version used during the Fever2002 world tour and was featured as an additional track on her 2002 single “Love At First Sight”.

2. Spinning Around (7th District Club Mental Mix)

One of the four mixes of Kylie’s comeback single in 2000 to feature on the 2CD singles released, this version is mixed by Jon Dixon and Andy Wetson aka 7th Heaven.

3. Wow (Death Metal Disco Scene Mix)

This remix was featured on the Australian CD single for “Wow” but oddly nowhere else…until the issue of this album!

4. Love At First Sight (Kid Crème Vocal Dub)

Only available on the limited edition vinyl single of “Love At First Sight”, this remix also make a mainstream debut on “Boombox”.

5. Slow (Chemical Brothers Remix)

Another commercial premier remix courtesy of British duo Tom Rowlands and Ed Simons who have been performing and remixing as The Chemical Brothers since 1989.

6. Come Into My World (Fischerspooner Mix)

This version of Kylie’s late 2002 hit was included with the Canadian and French single releases but once again makes it’s world debut here on this album.

7. Red Blooded Woman (Whitey Mix)

Confined to a limited edition Australian maxi CD, this remix by Whitey debuts on “Booombox”.

8. I Believe In You (Mylo Vocal Mix)

Perhaps the most popular mix of Kylie’s 2004 smash hit featured on all CD releases in all countries and is a welcome inclusion here again.

9. In Your Eyes (Knuckleheadz Mix)

Another debut for this mix of Kylie’s February 2002 number one and one of an amazing FOURTEEN different mixes of this song!

10. 2 Hearts (Mark Brown’s Pacha Ibiza Upper Terrace Mix)

Yet another debut remix for Kylie’s 2007 hit and a very chilled, more lively version of an otherwise mediocre tune.

11. On A Night Like This (Bini & Martini Club Mix)

Another popular remix featured on all CD formats of her September 2000 hit courtesy of Italian producers Gianni Bini and Paolo Martini.

12. Giving You Up (Riton Re-Rub Vox)

This version comes from Henry Smithson, an English DJ and producer who performs as Riton, was included on CD1 of this single from March 2005.

13. In My Arms (Sébastien Léger Vocal Remix)

This awesome remix was done by French DJ Sebastian Leger and is included here in it’s edited format of 3:49. The full 7:05 version is a real treat!

14. The One (Bitrocka Remix)

This is a new version of one of the standout tracks from “X“, that had been issued remixed by Brighton based producers Freemasons in Summer of 2008.

15. Your Disco Needs You (Casino Radio & Club Mix)

The single remix of Kylie’s call-to anthem had been released in Australia and Germany, but makes its first global appearance here.

16. Boombox (LA Riots Remix)

This track was originally one of the many tracks recorded for “X” but never made it to the final cut and makes its debut here with a remix from Daniel LeDisko and John O’Brien aka LA Riots.


Oddly “Boombox” was released in Japan first in December 2008 and the rest of the world throughout January and February 2009.  Nevertheless, it became hugely popular as a stop gap between “X” (2007) and the next album that would be a full year and a half away yet. It would peak at No.28 in the UK, No.72 in Australia and No.146 in Japan, as well as reaching No.10 on the US Electronic Album chart. As a ‘greatest hits’ of Kylie’s most popular and best loved remixes from the beginning of her Parlophone career, this CD is perfect and should be used whether you’re going out or partying indoors.

For all things Kylie, album reviews, live performances and much more CLICK HERE

If you enjoy what you read on this site – you can donate to show your support!

Click to donate any amount you like, every little helps!

Don’t have a music streaming service yet? Try one of these:

SpotifyApple Music or Amazon  |

This post contains affiliate links, which means that if you click on one of the product links, I’ll receive commission on any purchases.

Let us know what you think...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s