Will Young 2019

FRESH: ‘All The Songs’ – Will Young

Will Young returns with “All The Songs”!

by Christopher Smith

Will Young has a new record label, Cooking Vinyl, home of Nina Nesbitt, Sophie Ellis-Bextor and Passenger and he’s celebrating with a new single “All The Songs”, his first since “Amy” in 2016 and the first taster of a new album!

“All The Songs” is taken from his seventh studio album “Lexicon”, due to be released in June and his first full collection of new songs since his chart topping “85% Proof” album of 2015, his fourth number one in the UK.

Will, of course, made his name as the winner of the very first series of Pop Idol in 2002. His single “Anything Is Possible”/”Evergreen” was an instant smash selling over 1.7 million copies in the UK alone, the first of his four to date UK chart toppers. His debut album “From Now On” has sold over a million copies worldwide and featured two further number one’s, “Light My Fire” and “The Long And Winding Road”, with runner up Gareth Gates.

His 2003 album “Friday’s Child” was both acclaimed by critics and those within the industry and proved his biggest seller yet, shifting over 1.7 million copies in the UK alone. His single “Leave Right Now” topped the UK chart and even broke the US singles chart.

His third album “Keep On” was similarly feted, becoming triple Platinum certified in the UK and featuring the hit singles “Switch It On” and “All Time Love”. Will returned to the charts in 2011 with his smash hit “Jealousy” and the album “Echoes”, becoming his fifth straight Platinum certified album in the UK.

Stay in touch with Will through his WEBSITE and his FACEBOOK page

Don’t forget to follow all the songs featured on our FRESH music feature on the playlist. Enjoy!


If you enjoy what you read on this site – feel free to donate and show your support…click to donate any amount you like, every little helps!

Written by Christopher Smith

So perhaps you’ve read an article or two that I’ve written and wondered “just who is this character?”! Well I thought maybe it would be time to introduce myself and what I’m all about. Well it’s all about the music! Having been born in the late 1970’s I was heavily influenced by my parent’s love of ‘popular’ music and rock and roll of the 1950’s and 60’s. My Mother always said she should of married Elvis and my father was, and is still, in love with Sandie Shaw! But while my Dad’s tastes stopped in about 1967, my Mum carried on loving music throughout the 70’s, 80’s and beyond. My first memory was playing on the floor whilst my Mother was ironing one day with the radio on, and hearing ABBA’s “Super Trouper” dancing my nappy off to it! Maybe that’s where it all went wrong…?! Having been subjected to all and sundry in my infant years, I finally found my feet in the mid-1980’s and began ‘partying’ to the likes of Culture Club, Stevie Wonder(!), Elkie Brooks and Bananarama to name but a few! The year 1987 would have a profound effect on my listening tastes and from thereon in my life would be dominated with buying and listening to music. Any number of outstanding songs were released and listened to that year, most notably “Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now”, “I Wanna Dance With Somebody” and “La Isla Bonita”. That Summer my mind was completely taken over with music and sounds I’d never heard before and I was totally taken in by it all. My father would say “whaaar rubbish you got on naaaaao?” (I’m from Norfolk!) but I was hooked. And it continued so for the rest of the decade and the next. At the beginning of 1988 I ‘met’ my true love and the singer I’ve worshipped more than any other artist or group. You may know of her. She’s from Australia…! Aside from pop music, my tastes are many and varied and continues to grow and expand as I ‘mature’ in age. I’ve always been heavily interested in films and in particular the mechanics of film making and of course film music, so scores and subsequently orchestral music takes up a lot of my tastes and collection. 90’s dance and club tunes also takes up much of the space in my head and I’m surprised my brain has stopped shaking from the years of abuse it took being dragged to nightclubs, often three times a week in my 20’s! I find with each year that passes I regress back to my youth and of course the 1980’s. 80’s music dominates and the lust to see as many 80’s acts and singers play live now is insatiable. I’m still getting into the groove as much as every breath I take, but I’m never gonna give up listening to my heart and pumping up the volume, simply because I LOVE MUSIC…any kind of music!
%d bloggers like this: